Central Otago Health Services Ltd (COHSL) is the community owned, not-for-profit company which is responsible for providing health services out of Dunstan Hospital.


The groups responsible for our operation include:



Base funding comes primarily from the Southern District Health Board and there are also a number of private contracts that provide additional revenue.










COHSL employs over 130 staff and contractors in a range of health disciplines and support services. We participate in teaching a range of health professionals.


Dunstan Hospital


Dunstan Hospital is situated close by the township of Clyde at the entry to the Cromwell Gorge (199km north-west of Dunedin City – approximately 2 hours 30 minutes drive). It is located in the Central Otago District.


Dunstan Hospital has been operating in Central Otago since 1863. The modern, purpose built facility was extensively refurbished in 2005.


The Dunstan Hospital facility includes a 24 acute bed inpatient ward (including a three bed High Dependency Unit) and provides secondary health services to around 25,000 people living in the wider Central Otago and Wanaka regions.

Vision and Values COHSL website.png

Dunstan Hospital does not provide an Accident & Emergency (A&E) Service

In an emergency dial 111
Our Management Team


Chief Executive
Kathryn de Luc


Nursing Director and Quality Manager
Tina Gilbertson ( Jan 2022)

Allied Health Director
Lynda McCutcheon 



Our Management Team


Clinical Director
Dr Mark Smith



Clinical Services Manager
Dave Chisholm


Finance, IS and Hospital Services Manager
Petri Conradie


Our Board of Directors

Allan Kane 






Peter Houghton










Paul Allison








Our Board of Directors

Stephen Quin 









Richard Thomson

Tommy Foggo



COHSL's smokefree policy protects staff patients and visitors from first and second hand smoke and promotes healthy life styles.  COHSL buildings, sites, grounds, offices and vehicles are smokefree. 

Peter Houghton.jpg
RJT Headshot.jpg

Central Otago Health Incorporated


Central Otago Health Incorporated (COHInc) is the sole shareholder of COHSL and is the link between the community and COHSL.


The role of COHInc is to appoint directors to COHSL, hold hospital assets on behalf of the community, monitor company performance and represent the community’s views concerning health services to the Company. It has five elected members, one each from the wards the hospital services (Alexandra, Wanaka, Earnscleugh / Manuherikia, Roxburgh and Cromwell) as well as appointed members representing service providers, the Central Otago District Council and the Tangata Whenua.


Visit the COHInc website www.cohinc.org.nz for more information.